Twinsane’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

It’s that time of year again… continued

Posted by --- on Tuesday 8 January, 2008

Well the dishwasher seems to be working so that didn’t decide to give up… yet. But I wish I could say the same for my laptop! It’s a Compaq Presario R3000 and for a while now it’s had problems charging. I thought it was the connection and kept fiddling with it. Now it wont stay on long enough to use and it wont charge either. It looks like this is a common fault with these machines. It wasn’t a cheap laptop either when I bought it; it cost over £1000 because it was the only one in PCWorld that had a dedicated graphics card which turned out to be a waste of time because it was a “special” mobile version of an NVidia card and wouldn’t run my games.  I’ve found a great thread that explains how to fix it but I’m not sure I have the patience or the skills to do so.  Only one way to find out I suppose…

One a better note I’ve found a website that I’d highly recommend if you have problems with your major kitchen appliances in the UK. It’s called UK Whitegoods. They have a forum to ask for help. I posted about the dryer, someone replied the same day asking for more info, I posted that and within hours someone had told me what I needed and gave the details of how to get it! I emailed asking for a quote and again, had a response within hours. He is going to add the items I need to the online shop so that I can buy them! How good is that?! Now if I could just find someone to fix the DVD recorder…

Leave a Reply

 
