Twinsane’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

prune wine & mead

Posted by --- on Sunday 9 November, 2008

Made a start on the prune wine tonight. I thought I’d bought dried but there were “ready to eat”. They were also over 3 months out of date. Oh well, I should imagine that it wasn’t always perfect fruit used in winemaking. So far all I’ve done is bunged it in a bucket with 4l water and a spoonful of pectic acid. I need to stir it now daily for ten days.

I’ve also made a starter bottle up for making mead. This is preparation of yeast to get it going before adding it to whatever you are making. In a saucepan I  put:

  • 1 tbsp of malt extract
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp citric acid
  • 300 ml of water

I bought it all to the boil, boiled it for a minute or two and then placed it all in the fridge. While it was cooling I sterilised a wine bottle. Once cool I used a funnel to add 1 tsp wine yeast to the sterilised bottle then poured the cooled malt mixture through the funnel (to clean any yeast through). I placed a cotton wool ball in the neck of the bottle and placed the bottle behind the TV (running out of places to put all this wine!). It will be there for three days and hopefully, the yeast will be thoroughly enjoying itself and multiplying rapidly.

The kit I started yesterday seems to be doing well and has a nice yeasty froth on it.

Note to self: Have borrowed 4 demijohns from mom who has loads! I can see this being a regular occurence but had to promise payment of alcoholic “samples”.

One Response to “prune wine & mead”

  1. Greg Goode said

    I’m always interested in anything to do with mead or mead making.
    I’ve been getting a bit obsessed with the stuff over the last few weeks… I had some lovely warm spiced mead the other day!

Leave a Reply

 
