Twinsane’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Two rings in one year!

Posted by --- on Monday 22 December, 2008

Quick post – to be improved later!
first ring of death (rod) was green and on my xbox 360. lovely Microsoft, repaired and returned with no hassle and little waiting.
2nd ring was blue and was last night. went to get phone when i went to bed; the  lights were on but no one was in as the saying goes but this time literally! There were blue lights around the keys and the camera lense and a red light on the power button but the phone was unresponsive. Tried this morning – same result. removed battery, sim, memory, cleaned and replaced; repeated but no joy. I googled it and discovered BROD or the blue ring of death.
Read that there was a fix using sony’s update so I tried seus – sony ericson update service – and hit a problem: cannot download due to security zone policy? on firefox? another google and I discover a bug so I have to reset the Internet explorer settings that i’d increased due to regular attacks/trojans/popups despite not using the bloody software – another post.
I can then download seus. I  follow the instructions on screen but the phone is not recognised. Thanks again google! I then discover that i need to plug the phone usb into the computer not via usb hub. Ta-da! Phone recognised and currently updating. fingers crossed folks. i can’t not have a phone over yule!
okay, I was typing this and heard the noise xp makes when a device has been unplugged. I went to the update software window and it was showing the starting screen, I looked at the phone and it was dead. I tried to turn it on but got nothing. I unplugged it from usb and reconnected power in case the battery was dead but nothing. I disconnected and removed/ returned the battery and still nothing. I reconnected power started typing this and looked at the phone to see it had a bar going across the screen with “please wait” above it. now it’s gone off… now what?! I’ll try turning it on again. It says please wait in a blue square with a full bar below it. what’s it doing? I need coffee…

it’s turned on.. its lost everything. no contacts, no messages nothing. my best friend moved house and sent me her new phone number and contacts. another friend sent me new number last week – i’m gutted…

two lessons from this

first – back up your phone!

second – don’t buy sony ericsson. this is my first sony phone. have always hated the look of them but wanted the blogging feature – which doesn’t work on this phone/network for some reason and the customer services at orange uk haven’t heard of blogging… but still i’m stuck with this phone for 18 months.

Leave a Reply

 
