Twinsane’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

One chick died

Posted by --- on Tuesday 1 September, 2009

Over the past few days I’ve been trying to keep one of the chicks that hatched a few days ago alive. It wasn’t attempting to eat or drink so I’ve been feeding it by hand. Really I shouldn’t have bothered because it would probably never feed itself. I should have researched how to dispatch it and done that as soon as I knew it wouldn’t survive but DFS thought that it wasn’t trying to feed itself because it was week. I didn’t think so as it was managing to get itself back to the heat lamp if I left it out of the way.
It means that there are only two of the pekins now and I suspect them to be one cockerel and a hen – at least I hope one is a hen. We’ve got enough cockerels and I’ll have to dispatch those soon along with the cock quails. I’m not looking forward to it but I said when I started that we would be raising them for meat and eggs.

Leave a Reply

 
