Twinsane’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

sorry it’s been a while… lexie

Posted by --- on Tuesday 15 June, 2010

After agonising for months we decided that with our small home and a baby on the way, we would rehome Lexie. Because of her good pedigree I didn’t want her to go off to be a puppy factory so I spent a few weeks trying to place her in one of the services. I was surprised at the police force who I thought would be interested but after ringing several different areas I had no luck. I was told in the end that they breed their own puppies. Then I tried the air force who were interested and came to check her out.  She didn’t pass the tests. They said she was very intelligent and one of the most intelligent they’d came across but she was also too independant and would be too difficult to train (tell me something I didn’t know!).

This then meant finding a domestic home for her where she would be happy and looked after. I contacted a local family who run GSD clubs etc and asked if they knew anyone interested and they wanted her for themselves! I couldn’t be here when she went but have been in contact and she is more than happy. The problems she had here aren’t a problem there. she has to mix with other dogs as she is with other dogs and has settled with them really well. She is also no longer afraid to travel as she follows the rest of the pack into the car and as they are happy so is she. I have been invited to go and see her whenever I’d like but I can’t bring myself to go and put myself through that. I think they are intending to start showing her and probably let her have a litter of puppies in a year or so.

Leave a Reply

 
