Twinsane’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Freezing and Cooking

Posted by --- on Friday 18 August, 2023

I haven’t done any cooking really for ages but not going over the lotty so much, I’m finding I have more time for stuff at home. I’ve fancied making an onion tart for ages and actually got around to making one today.
I made the shortcrust pastry with this recipe:

250g plain flour
125g fat (1/2 & 1/2 butter and lard)
3 tbsp water
pinch salt

I then used my new pastry blender to blend the fats into the flour.

I based the tart on the Ultimate Onion Tart recipe from the BBC:

shortcrust pastry
25g butter
2 tbsp olive oil
900g onion, halved and thinly sliced
2 medium eggs
300ml double cream
40g vegetarian parmesan -style cheese, grated

Method
STEP 1
Heat oven to 190C/fan 170C/gas 5. Roll out the pastry on a lightly floured surface and use to line a deep 23cm fluted flan tin. Line with baking paper and fill with baking beans. Bake blind for 15 mins.

STEP 2
Heat the butter and oil in a large frying pan, then gently fry the onions, covered, for about 30 mins until completely softened, but still pale in colour.

STEP 3
Beat the eggs and cream together in a bowl, then add the cheese and some seasoning. Stir in the onions, then spoon the mixture into the flan case. Bake for 25-30 mins until lightly set and browned
.

Instead of cream I used creme fraiche and as I was blanching courgettes for the freezer I added about 200-300g of blanched courgette. Despite following the recipe, I had tons of filling left.

While I was doing the tart, I managed to blanch 2kg of courgettes in both slices and chunks and froze them in 500g portions.

Leave a comment